Wilkes University Honors Eight Emeriti Faculty

by Web Services

Wilkes University is honoring eight faculty members with the title of professor emeriti. Seven of the faculty members retired from the University this year. One is receiving the honor posthumously.

Emeriti status is an honor bestowed by the University to show respect for a distinguished career. The title acknowledges that though one may not be part of the institution any longer, the individual will always be part of the Wilkes community.

Nominated by colleagues and peers, eligible faculty members are presented to the board of trustees for consideration. Each of the eight faculty members received unanimous support.

The following retiring faculty members were honored in November:

  • Dale Bruns, professor of environmental science and former dean of the College of Science and Engineering
  • Bonnie Culver, associate professor and director of the Maslow Graduate Creative Writing Program
  • John Gilmer, professor of electrical engineering
  • Sid Halsor, professor of geology
  • Mary Anne Merrigan, associate professor of nursing
  • Jacqueline Stewart, associate professor of nursing
  • Bridgette Zielinski, associate professor of nursing

In addition, Steven Thomas, professor of music and chair of the Division of Performing Arts, was honored posthumously. Thomas passed away on July 12, 2020 at age 49 after a yearlong battle with cancer. In addition to his work at Wilkes, Thomas was well known in the greater Wilkes-Barre community as the music director of the Arcadia Chorale, the premier northeast Pennsylvania chamber choir.

Read more about Steven Thomas here.

You may also like