Wilkes University and Luzerne County Community College Sign Agreement for Pre-Pharmacy Students

by Web Services

Wilkes University and Luzerne County Community College are expanding their partnership on a new articulation agreement for students who wish to pursue their doctor of pharmacy degree.

Under the new agreement, academically qualified students who complete the Luzerne County Community College pre-pharmacy program can apply to the Wilkes Nesbitt School of Pharmacy through a streamlined process and be given preferential consideration for admission interview. LCCC graduates will be able to transfer up to 63 credits toward the doctor of pharmacy degree and can receive a guaranteed $10,000 annual scholarship toward the cost of their attendance for up to two years. Additional merit scholarships of up to $21,000 are also available.

The two-year pre-professional program at Luzerne County Community College is designed to provide students with the appropriate science background to enter into science-based professional programs such as the pharmacy degree at Wilkes. If not accepted, students may elect to complete an undergraduate degree at Wilkes over the course of two more years of study.

Wilkes President Greg Cant and LCCC President Thomas P. Leary signed the agreement on June 21 at Luzerne County Community College.

“Wilkes University is proud of our continued partnership with Luzerne County Community College,” said Wilkes President Greg Cant. “As a result of this agreement, Wilkes will educate even more students from our region, preparing them for well-paying careers in pharmacy fields. With Wilkes University’s relationships with local health care systems, those students are likely to stay in the area after graduation, retaining their talents to northeast Pennsylvania and our local communities.”

“LCCC remains committed to expanding access to high-priority occupations for our graduates by creating meaningful partnerships with other educational institutions,” says Thomas P. Leary, president, LCCC. “Luzerne County Community College and Wilkes University share the vision and commitment in working collaboratively to advance transfer opportunities for all students.”

Founded in 1996, the Nesbitt School of Pharmacy is the region’s only school of pharmacy. The school develops pharmacists who will provide high-quality health care and make meaningful contributions to the science and practice of pharmacy. The school awards the doctor of pharmacy degree, the primary, entry-level pharmacy practice degree in the United States. Under the agreement, students will spend two years at Luzerne County Community College and complete four years of pharmacy school at Wilkes.

You may also like